Homepage english

Homepage english language standard


Under the Patronage of the President of
the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe 


Vedovato photo COE 2012 01 19 225x225

Giuseppe Vedovato had died on

18.01.2012 at the age of 99 years.

Giuseppe Vedovato

PACE President Mevlüt Cavusoglu pays tribute.

more: vedovato-en



SemStrasbourg reception COE 512x382 2011 10 22 053


Seminar of the EAFP
at the Council of Europe


Closing event of the Seminar of Strasbourg which ended with the
vote of the European Charter  of
Former Parliamentarians 


October 7th 20117th


more: seminarstrasbourg

Berne 2011 Hadjirousos 250x195 aaa 082


Speech of Mr Hadjirousos
on the occasion of the
Bureau meeting in Bern

27-28  May 2011



read here: speech-hadj 



Speech by President Ninos Hadjirousos
at the General Assembly of the European Parliament Former Members Association
at  the European Parliament in Brussels on Thursday 5 May 2011
speech:  fmaga


Colloquium Kiev 2010
Migration and integration in Europe

Kiev Declaration
presented by
Mrs Karin Junker
member of FMA-PE
Kiev Hadjirousos Junker 360x250hp P1040041
"Almost all parts of the world are affected by legal and/or illegal migration in the form of immigration, emigration or transit movements. ..."



more about declaration:

M. Ninos Hadjirousos, President, Mrs Karin Junker, rapporteur,
Mrs Lisette Nelissen, secretary, at the opening session of the
Kiev Colloquium 2010 
Kiev Bayrak et Kravtchuk 360x215hp P1040056
M. Bayrak Mikola, President of MP's Club Parliament and

M. Kravtchuk, former President of Ukraine

at the Coloquium of Kiev 2010


pat cox 95x135web

Pat COX elected President of the

European Parliament

Former Members Association FMA

At the General Assembly of June 10th 2010, Pat Cox was elected new President of the FMA. He succeeds former President Maria GIL ROBLES who had the great merit to make the FMA member of the European Association of Former Members of Parliament.


more over: patcox 


 Hadjirousos Bureau Bruxelles 2010 255x291hp P1010442  

Bureau Meeting in Brussel

The European Association of Former Parliamentarians hold its first Bureau under the new President Ninos Hadjirousos at May 28th, 2010 in Brussel.

The Bureau was preceded in the morning by a Restricted Bureau which had the aim to fix the guidelines of the programm for the next two years. 

The day after, the former european parliamentarians were invited by Pro Lege, the Belgian Association, to participate at their 30th Anniversary.




 Pro Lege trois présidents 255x191hp P1010450   30th Anniversary Pro Lege Brussels                                             
      Hadjirousos - De Decker - Onkelinx   speech Hadjirousos at dinner: ad-hadjirousos 
    speech Hadjirousos academic session: as-hadjirousos 



 ag2010 paris hadjirousos dimmer 250x188web P1000468   General Assembly in Paris

Ninos Hadjirousos, Cyprus (right) is elected new President from the European Association of Former Parliamentarians.

The Past-President Camille Dimmer, Luxembourg (left) adresses the best wishes to his successor.

more about the new President: hadjirousos  
    closing speech: csp-hadjirousos 


senat haenel delcamp dimmer 250x188web P1000386   

Symposium at he french Senate in Paris 

February 26th, 2010

Bicamerisme and European Senate

C. Dimmer - H. Haenel - A. Delcamp     
Haenel Hubert   haenel-speech1-en 
Haenel Hubert   haenel-speech2-en 
Delcamp Alain   delcamp-speech-en 
senat dimmer president senat Larcher 250x188web P1000456   

Symposium at the french Senate in Paris 

Bicamerisme and European Senate

                 President of the Senate Larcher    larcher-speech-en 


 cavusoglu mevlüt president apce 2010 01 110x110web  

Mevlüt Cavusoglu from Turkey
elected as new PACE President

The Assembly elected Mevlüt Cavusoglu (Turkey, EDG) as its new President
at the opening of its plenary session in Strasbourg (25-29 January).
Mr Cavusoglu succeeds Lluis Maria de Puig (Spain, SOC) as the Assembly's
25th President. He is the first Turk to hold the office since Turkey's accession
to the Council of Europe in August 1949. 



 40th Anniversary
Association italienne des anciens parlementaires
Rome Novembre 20th 2009
  rome octobre 2009 074 Coccia Zolla 160x220web  
Speech of M. Gianfranco Fini

President of Camera dei Deputati
read speech: discoursfini (only frech translation) 
 Italian Association M. Coccia (left) and M.Zolla  


The Lisbon Seminar 2009 


What role and what status
for the former parliamentarians
in the political and civil socity ?



Luis Nandin de Carvalho

  The Lisbon Seminar, hold on Octobre 23th, 2009,
was a great success and closed by an Appeal from
the former european parliamentarians.

read here: LisbonSeminar 


Signature of memorandum for cooperation between PACE and EAFP

Paris Septembre 7th, 2009


meorandum coe paris 20090907 signature1 250x275web




memorandum coe paris 20090907 groupe1 143 360x293web


 Lluis Maria de Puig / Camille Dimmer    Sorinas, Dimmer, De Puig, Hunault, Roblain, Sawitzky 
    ... more: memorandum-FR-EN 


 camille portait 95x134 100_1530    


on the website of the

European Association of

Former Members

of Parliament !

... more: welcome

coe 60 ans 95x125web
   Anniversary 60 years

"The Council of Europe was created 60 years ago with the aim of achieving greater unity between its members. The year 2009 is an opportunity to mark this anniversary and to look towards the future and the challenges it brings'', stated Miguel Ángel Moratinos, Chairman of the Committee of Ministers and Spain's Minister for Foreign Affairs and Co-operation, Lluís Maria De Puig, President of the Parliamentary Assembly, and Terry Davis, Secretary General of the Council of Europe. 
 Camille Dimmer             


Decembre 22th 2008, M. Xavier Hunault, Vice-President of the European Association of Former Members of Parliament, was decorated by the medal of "Commandeur dans l'Ordre national du Mérite".

Our congratulations !


With a deep sadness we advise all the members of the European Association that Nuala Fennell,  our former President, died on 11th August 2009. She was  a very active member of FP-AP and contributed highly to the development and restructuring of our organisation. 

We express our sincere condolences to her husband, her family and the Irish Parliamentarx Society.

... more: nualafennell

Xavier Hunault        Nuala Fennel     


  staad letzebuerg 225x168web  

Bureau Meeting in Luxembourg

June 19th, 2009

European elections: the new context in Europe

"The very high rate of abstentions at the elections of June 7th, 2009 is of course the most striking fact to be noted."

more: statement

 AAD_Bureau 190609 006 groupe1 web
 The Bureau members at the Luxembourg Parliament


aad_Gil_Robles    The European Parliament Former Members Association (FMA)
has been elected member of the European Association of
Former Parliamentarians (EAFP)
President José Maria Gil Robles     

The European Association of Former Parliamentarians has taken place on March 13th 2009 in Paris. At this annual meeting the FMA has become the 17th full member of the European Association.

At Decembre 8th 2005, the two associations had concluded by an agreement, signed by the Presidenr Lord Plumb, FMA, ant the President Nunez Encabo, EAFP, to intensify their cooperation. Since this time, members and the secretary of the FMA participated regularly at the activities and events of the European Association.

In a letter from March 9th 2009, the President José Maria Gil-Robles claims his conviction that the FMA is the best placed organisation to inform the members of the European Association about the European institutions, one of the objectives of their statuts.